top of page

Probinsyana in the City


New season.


New journey.


What Manila life can offer me this time? (I'm sitting in the couch while thinking about this a million times.)

Well, it's been six years since I left Manila for work. I decided to go back to Batangas for me to avoid traffic, busy streets, fast-paced world, no buzz ending cars and definitely I want to spend more time with my family and long-time friends. In short, I'm not a fan of cities. I'd rather be comforted by fresh air than an air-conditioned condo unit.

But hey, after I experienced working as a Disc Jockey in a local radio station, being a professor in College and doing some hosting and events stuff, I'm back in the city for a good opportunity given to me. Am I ready to deal with all my adversaries? Definitely, it will be a great challenge for me to face my new ventures. But but but, giving up is not part of my vocabulary! Here are the kwentos.

 

May naka-schedule akong interview somewhere in Bicutan. Seriously, I've never been there. (I'm proud to be a probinsyana.) Nakikita ko lang ang Bicutan kapag dumaraan kami minsan sa skyway. I got the exact address of the office from my former boss who is actually working in the same company now and asked my friend for the instructions. According to her "sasakay ka ng bus tapos baba sa Alabang tapos sakay ka ulit bus tapos blah blah blah. Ang dami kong dapat sakyan. Laughing out loud to know that I will experience majority of the public vehicles . Name it! (3 rides of jeepney from our home going to Batangas grand terminal. From there, 2 rides of a bus, 1 ride of jeepney and 1 ride of tricycle. Amazing! Right?)


Wait! I forgot to include my walking journey in Bicutan overpass. It's been a long long long walk of fame. Haha! Imagine, I'm wearing a coat and tried to be on posture despite the lagkit pollution. Note: I'll be using some tagalog statements in the next few lines para mas intense.


Back to my kwento. I survive the overpass! Yahoo! The next challenge: searching for the jeepney going to the kanto of SunValley. And because it's my first time. Tumabi ako malapit sa driver para hindi ako makalampas. But still, nakalampas pa rin ako. I said it's okay baka naman kasi konti lang lalakarin ko, I forgive you Manong. I asked someone where is Sun Valley. I found out that it is still few blocks away. Gosh. But thank God, I still managed to be on track.


 


And finally! After more than 4 hours of travel. Mission accomplished! I found the office. Interview passed! I just need to complete my requirements and by then, I can start working with new boss, new office mates and new computer.I'm starting to embrace again all the traffic and other stuff about city life.

(*** insert mellow dramic BGM***)


I realized that to be in the finish line is just a bonus or getting a gold medal from Olympics. What is more important? To survive in every circumstances. Actually, it's more about the journey. The process. How the hassle molded me to push harder. Living independently, cooking for myself and washing my own clothes. I don't usually do this chores in Batangas. (cooking? sometimes when I'm in the mood.)


Scenario: My favorite spot in my former boss' condo is his couch. (By the way, I live with him together with his family for the meantime while searching for my own unit.) Nagmumuni-muni ako about my experienced for my first week here in Bicutan [specifically]



In the end of the day, it's still about Him. Who always sustain me in every way.

Thanks to you my Big Boss. You are my comfort. Thanks for taking care of me while I'm away with my family. (Missing them so much.)




Hi. I'm Asie/Kim. Proud to be probinsyana in the city.



bottom of page